National Drone Association?

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed. (Second Amendment)

If drones are arms, then I want one to protect my home. In fact, I want each of my neighbors to have one, too; this way we can protect our block. Maybe everyone in my little village should have a drone as well. That way we can really feel secure. I think this would classify us a “militia,” thus abiding by the actual words of the second amendment. Who knows, perhaps the local super department store near me can stock them in the arms department.

If this effort spreads as I think it will, perhaps we could start a National Drone Association, collecting money from businesses to support a lobbying effort to make sure no laws are passed to limit our second amendment rights, including that of having personal drones.

Of course, I am writing this tongue-in-cheek. I have no desire to have a drone and I am very wary of the ethical dimensions of drones anyway. I mean, how would I feel if another country used drones in my neighborhood? But I also wonder who is standing up for those of us who don’t want guns in our houses and don’t want to carry a military style weapon to work? I don’t want my police department outgunned by the bad guys.

If you believe that the government has no right to infringe upon the second amendment, then carried to its extreme, they have no right to stop me from purchasing a drone. They also have no right to limit the sales of alcohol to minors, set highway speeds, or any other measures to keep us safe.

So, to ease the minds of my neighbors, rest assured, I don’t want a drone and neither should you. There are some limits to our freedoms, such as not crying fire in a crowded theater or carrying a concealed weapon in a restaurant.

Leave a comment

Filed under Drones, humor, John C. Morgan, laughter

Leave a Reply

