The Sights and Sounds of Trains

The most alluring image I know is that of railroad tracks leading into the distance, a mysterious place shrouded in mist, leading one’s imagination to wonder what might be there.

And the most haunting sounds are those of the engine whistle in the night, making one think of places long gone or ones I wish had visited.

As a child I traveled with my mother across the country from Philadelphia to Denver, Colorado to spend summers with my grandparents. I shall never forget the clicking sounds luring me into sleep, sitting in the dining car, or in the bubble glass top watching the Colorado mountains.

There’s something almost mystical about the sounds and sights of trains in the night, leading one into the illusion of eternity beyond time and space.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spirituality, Trains

Leave a Reply

